Find the answer to your Linux question:
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By alf55
I'm a student with some experience in C++ using windows vs2010. The course I'm taking now, data structures using C++, is using the Linux environment. I'm having trouble with the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Visual Studio C++ != Linux C++

I'm a student with some experience in C++ using windows vs2010. The course I'm taking now, data structures using C++, is using the Linux environment. I'm having trouble with the transition. Compiling and linking a .h, main.cpp and a makefile, which is new to me until last week, is what I need help with. I'm wanting to use the vim editor because I have previous experience using it in an assembly language course. My data structures professor only uses the emacs editor. He only supports and teaches emacs but will allow you to use whatever you like. I'd rather use vim. I'm looking for a good resource, that doesn't start with hello world, to teach C++ using Linux. Advanced C++ using Linux as a beginner I guess you could say. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Linux Enthusiast
    Visual Studio C++ is not "Standard C++". The Gnu C++ follows the standards. Since you seem to need an IDE, you should look at using Eclipse (also available for MS OS environments as well). Any C++ book (not Microsoft C++ which is non-standard) would help. The C++ books that I have are about the language and do not talk about such things as editors, make (or ant), or using an IDE such as Eclipse. The only book that I have seen for Eclipse is written for the MS environment.

Goto the the GNU Manuals page )GNU Manuals Online - GNU Project - Free Software Foundation) for manuals for:
    • GCC (GNU Compiler Collection)
    • Make
    • GDB (The GNU debugger)
    • DDD (GUI front-end to may debuggers including gdb)
    • GNU C reference manual

And other.