Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Limit Users wine rights

Hey all, newbie here. Trying to figure out how to limit user's ability to install new software. I'm using the ubuntu distro.

Normally I don't have to worry about users without root privileges installing software because that requires a password with root privileges. But I have several windows programs installed on their accounts through wine. So now all they have to do is download (or transfer via flash drive) an exe file and install it on wine. I'm trying to figure out how to let users run certain software on wine, but only that software. Is their any way to block wine from installing new software? Or do you know if I can make a general prohibition on exe files, and whitelist certain applications? Any help (with steps, I'm not the best on the command line) would be great.

Linux Guru
    and your extensive web searches on the topic have revealed what exactly?

My google searches for restricting wine rights mostly turned up a lot of stuff about preventing wine or wine applications internet access or preventing users from access to wine altogether. I did find one post about the same issue (ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1637907.html) but it doesn't look fully resolved.

I've used chown and chmod before and know how to set permissions. I know I can chown wine and my whitelist of .exe applications, and give permission to a user to run those applications. The problem I'm seeing is that once he is allowed to use wine to run approved applications, he/she can just transfer a new .exe file (that they have ownership) to the computer and so install pretty much whatever.

What I need is to give users selective wine permissions that works as a whitelist of permitted .exe applications, that somehow blocks new .exe applications even though the user (not me) may own them. If there is instructions out there on that I didn't find them.