Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey guys, i just downloaded wine, i ran the rpm and it took forever to finish. but my problem is, i cant run the configure command, and i cant uninstall ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

wine problems

hey guys, i just downloaded wine, i ran the rpm and it took forever to finish. but my problem is, i cant run the configure command, and i cant uninstall it either. i found the wine dir in the /usr/lib/wine directory. but i cant run the commands from there. what did i do wrong?

Just Joined!
    The best way is to install the winetools from www.winehq.com.

After you install winetools....

just run
    $ winetools

A GUI program will run through which you can easily configure wine....u need to install lot of things such as dcom98, other tools to configure wine.

After you finish it you can install IE also from winetools.

Just Joined!
    i am new to linux, so bare with me, i installed that package, and i found the wine dir under /usr/lib/wine. but the cmd $winetools doesnt work. what do i do now?

wine

If you need to uninstall the wine just

Code:
    rpm -e <pkg name>

wine

When i obtained wine i got it here as a rpm http://www.winehq.org/site/download-rh
    It then just run as it was part of the system,i did not need to configure ext its just go from the exe .

Just Joined!

Re: wine

Quote Originally Posted by mactabilis
    When i obtained wine i got it here as a rpm http://www.winehq.org/site/download-rh
    It then just run as it was part of the system,i did not need to configure ext its just go from the exe .
    So you didn't have to fiddle around with wine.conf ? OK, I installed wine as root user ( is this ok ?), but I cant seem to be able to locate the wine.conf file in ~/.wine/conf or /etc.