Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm pretty new with linux and i'm trying to find an OS that will work with my laptop. i've found several that do most of what i want but i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Wireless sees the Network but won't connect

I'm pretty new with linux and i'm trying to find an OS that will work with my laptop. i've found several that do most of what i want but i have 3 now that have the same issue. It supposedly recognizes my wireless card (Mini PCI Atheros) ath0 and it sees the wireless network but it won't pull an ip address. is there something i can do or reset. the one that seems to work the best has been XandrOS but i've also tried Ubuntu which works really well except i can't get it to play mp3's or dvd's. I've tried MEPIS and Kubuntu which allow me to connect (supposedly) but won't pull an ip or let me out on the net. Xandros is an enigma to me. I couldn't get it to work until i plugged in the wired connection and pulled an ip from that (i plugged it directly into my wireless router) then unplugged the wire. It worked fine even through Reboots. But when i brought it to work where i don't have the luxury of plugging into the router itself i can see the signal all day long but it won't connect. any ideas? My Laptop is the Dell Latitude C400 PIII 1.2 GHz 1GB RAM

Well I know for a fact that SuSE 9.3 supports and configures atheros cards out of the box (my laptop has a 5004G card).

can you paste the output of the following command:
    Code:
    iwconfig
    you need to be root to run this command, so first enter su to become root (or if you are using ubuntu/kubuntu, do a sudo iwconfig), then enter the command.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

maybe i'm just a moron

i got sick of those and downloaded Suse 9.3 and am installed it and iwconfig doesnt work as a command is there something different in suse