Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hey guys, i'm quite new to linux and so far i've been loving it. over the past few weeks i've been learning quite a lot, even editing my own xorg ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Smile Installing Call of Duty2

hey guys,

i'm quite new to linux and so far i've been loving it. over the past few weeks i've been learning quite a lot, even editing my own xorg file! propably nothing great for the linux savvy ppl, but i was just another windows user, not used to any kind of manual configurations.

anyhow, i chose vectorlinux as my distro (slackware based). my only problem is, and seems to be with many new linux users, is the lack of game support. i did some reserch and found out about wine and was realy delighted to see that my favourite games such as call of duty 2 can run on linux. after battling to get wine installed on my machine, i have no idea where to go from here. i know wine is installed because thereis an icon of it in my k-menu.

i'de realy appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction to get call of duty 2 installed on my system.

cya

I'm not sure specifically about call of duty 2 but wine is usually not the best method for gaming support. Cedega is a pay program that is basically like wine but specifically designed for games. I would check that out. But wine is easy to use. All you do is wine nameofexe.exe

so you would open the call of duty 2 installer and try running wine pathtocddrive/installer.exe

hope this helps.

It is my experience that trying to run windows games on linux is a lot of effort and if you have a windows disc / or install on your computer just play the games on windows and do everything else on linux.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL