Find the answer to your Linux question:
Youve all probably seen a bunch of people ask this stuff but im looking for a free version of Wine being WineX im assuming...and how to install and use it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

WineX

Youve all probably seen a bunch of people ask this stuff but im looking for a free version of Wine being WineX im assuming...and how to install and use it and where ot find a legitimate download of the RPM and any tips on using it

if you can give me a link and instructions on this it would help a great deal...im currently running mandrake 9.0 but im reloading mandriva 2006 tonight so i need a version for mandriva 2006...thank you

Joe

p.s. im a newbie to Linux and GNU/Unix

Linux Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by xvolcom
    Youve all probably seen a bunch of people ask this stuff but im looking for a free version of Wine being WineX im assuming...and how to install and use it and where ot find a legitimate download of the RPM and any tips on using it
    Huh? Wine is free. Cedega (formerly known as WineX) is not free at all.

Which one you get depends on whether you want to run Windows games that use copy protection involving the game CD. Cedega differs from wine mainly in their support of this copy protection.
    For most other things, wine works at least as well, and has no subscription fee.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    tAK
    Just Joined!
    actually, a short time back, Cedega (formerly WineX) were, and i think still are releasing there CVS of cedega...

its apparently a prick of a thing to compile, but there are some guides out there to doing it, and it also doesnt come with Point To Play (the software which makes things a lot easier to configure etc)