Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Ok, trying to install Return to Castle Wolfenstein using Wine. Everything goes great until it asks for CD2, the CD drive won't open. I got smart, umounted the CD drive, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    64

    Wine won't give me CD 1 back!!


    Ok, trying to install Return to Castle Wolfenstein using Wine. Everything goes great until it asks for CD2, the CD drive won't open. I got smart, umounted the CD drive, opened it, inserted disc 2, mounted it and clicked OK but it fails to read a file and the install process stops. Now what??

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    64
    Ok, Wine is the most horrible software I've used in my life. I've tried everything, searched everywhere and I still can't find a solution to my problem. I discovered that even if I umount the drive, open it, insert disc 2, mount the drive, that I cannot see any files on the disc. "wishing I had Wine on a CD so I could break it!!!" lol

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Wine does lock the drive sometimes, it's not an easy thing to get around. I know that cedega/P2P has a workaround for this but you are into subscription land there. Are you using winetools? It makes these installs a bit easier but I cannot remember if there is a drive lock workaround.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Why not try in another terminal the eject command.

    Just as root

    eject /dev/[device name here]


    eg

    eject /dev/hdd

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    That's something I hae tried often - the downside is that it may be difficult to get the drive to mount the disc afterwards. I have a had a few issues with that before.
    Last edited by bigtomrodney; 02-24-2006 at 08:31 AM.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Would mounting the drive back to the location not fix the issue?

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Out of curiosity, why not run the native Linux client?
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    64
    Well, I open the launch.exe file from the cd using the command "wine /media/dvd/launch.exe" which opens the install menu for the game. I click install and go through all of that, tell it where I want it to install and all. CD1 installs and it asks for CD2, the drive won't open. So, I open a terminal and as su I eject it, and close it, mount it, and that's the point where everything goes wrong b/c it won't read the disc. I tried the native Linux client, it says it doesn't support libc for x86 64, so, that won't work. I'm at my wit's end with this game!! lol

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    ok, here's what i've tried: rip all the CDs to isos (this link tells you how). then you mount the first one, run wine, then when it asks for more CDs, mount them over the original one. if possible, try and umount them when the files are done installing. you should now have RTCW installed if you are lucky.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    64
    I honestly don't understand what you just said. I get the iso part, you mean make an iso image of the disc on my hd right?? Run the install from the hd instead of the disc?? Mount what over the original?? I don't get it.......

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •