Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I think that there is a lot of people that would like to get battlefield 1942 to work but dont know how (like me) so if there is anybody who ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Smith_mincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12

    Getting Battlefield to work.


    I think that there is a lot of people that would like to get battlefield 1942 to work but dont know how (like me) so if there is anybody who has it working could please tell us how you managed to get it working.
    thanx,

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    i play call of duty just fine on my suse machine, using wine.

    never tried battlefield on linux though, but why not give it a try anyway?

    ps: one thing to bear in mind -> emulators (like cedega and wine) dont get along well with punkbuster, so sometimes you get pb_kicked for no reason.
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Smith_mincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12
    well Aparently it is very difficult to get battlefield to work at all but i hear that some people have done it.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    well, start by emulating the installation program on the cd, and go from there

    for example, if you have wine installed, open a terminal and type:

    wine /media/drive_name/Setup.exe

    the drive name is normaly "cdrom" or "dvd". just open either of them first and see which has the files.

    note that setup.exe may be called something else in battlefield's case, so just find the launcher that would normaly start the installation in windows
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  6. #5
    Just Joined! Smith_mincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12
    I did what you said but i get this error when i try to run setup

    wine client error:1a: get_apc_request: bad type 1075891776

    I can run autorun.exe fine but i get the same error when i select it to install.

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    you need cedega

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Quote Originally Posted by a12ctic
    you need cedega
    QFT.

    I've had it running well for quite some time using Cedega. Check out this page on the unofficial Transgaming Wiki for tips. Be sure to read all the stuff at the bottom, too.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  9. #8
    Just Joined! Smith_mincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    12
    Well i'd like to use cedega but I personally dont have a creditcard and dont fell so hot about 5 bucks a month.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie easuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    194
    well, how about giving us an error copy/paste from wine. maybe it can be solved
    All Empires rise and fall. The Microsoft Empire has already risen, only one way to go now...

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    I believe you can still get Cedega free from CVS (on this page). I haven't tried it so I don't know if it's exactly the same, but people on Transgaming's forums use it successfully.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •