Find the answer to your Linux question:
i am new to linux and have recently installed wine on my laptop (with ubuntu 6.06 installed). when i go to run wine through the terminal it tells me that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help with wine

i am new to linux and have recently installed wine on my laptop (with ubuntu 6.06 installed). when i go to run wine through the terminal it tells me that the x11 drivers are missing and to check my build. how do i fix this problem???

How did you install it? The advice at WineHQ recommends not using the regular APT repositories, but use theirs like this:

To install Wine from the WineHQ APT repository, you need to configure APT to look in the right place for the Wine packages. On Ubuntu systems, and those using the Synaptic Package Manager, this can be done easily by opening up Synaptic (System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager) and selecting Settings->Repositories. Then click add, select custom, and enter one of the following:

For Ubuntu Dapper (6.06):
    deb http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt dapper main

Then, simply click reload and search for the package 'wine' for installation. If you already have a 'wine' package installed, selecting mark all upgrades should update Wine to the newest version.
    Also, you said, "when i go to run wine through the terminal". Does that mean you are running Wine with X not running--just text console terminals? If so, I've never run Wine without X, so I don't know if it will work.

Just Joined!
    I installed wine through the repositories like it said on the WineHQ website.