Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Can't install WINE on Suse v10. It says that there is a file missing. Tried the script version also, but because i am new to linux i can't get this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Error installing

Can't install WINE on Suse v10. It says that there is a file missing. Tried the script version also, but because i am new to linux i can't get this to work.

Any suggestions how to get it to work??

Thanks Seb

What file did it say is missing?

Just Joined!
    When installing with YaST it says that "ERROR. The following packages havn't been found on the meduim: winewine"

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    That looks like an error specific to some script in that particular build. I've never used SUSE, but I understant that YaST is just a user-friendly interface to the rpm command. It might be worthwhile to download the rpm file and run this command (substituting the filename if different):
    Code:
    # rpm -ihv wine-0.9.18-SuSELinux101.i586.rpm
    Or maybe use '-ivv' instead of '-ihv'. The 'h' gives you hash marks so you don't think it's stuck, 'v' gives some verbose information, and 'vv' gives more verbose information.

Also, the command
    $ rpm -qp --scripts rpmfile
    will print out the scripts that are run during installation and uninstallation, without actually doing anything.

Just Joined!
    I tried the code you gave me and it came up with this error.
    file /usr/share/man/man1/winebuild.1.gz from install of wine-0.9.18-0.1 conflicts with file from package wine-20050725-3
    file /usr/share/man/man1/winedbg.1.gz from install of wine-0.9.18-0.1 conflicts with file from package wine-20050725-3
    file /usr/share/man/man1/winedump.1.gz from install of wine-0.9.18-0.1 conflicts with file from package wine-20050725-3