Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello, I need some help installing Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 with Wine. I don't know how to do it... Anyway, thanks for the help!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! KonquerorPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77

    Question Rollercoaster Tycoon 2


    Hello, I need some help installing Rollercoaster Tycoon 2 with Wine. I don't know how to do it... Anyway, thanks for the help!

  2. #2
    Just Joined! tuxv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    92
    Just type
    wine rct2.exe -opengl
    and it will work fine. It worked better than in windows in my suse 10. ;(

  3. #3
    Just Joined! KonquerorPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77
    I get a message saying wine: could not load L"c:\\windows\\system32\\rct2.exe": Module not found...??? Can you help? Thanks!

  4. #4
    Just Joined! tuxv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    92
    You have to enter the command
    wine rct2.exe -opengl
    when you are inside the installation directory.

    Before giving that command change the directory. If you are using konqueror(kde) type ~/.wine as the URL and you will be inside the wine directory. then you will be able to find your way to the right directory. If you installed your game to C:/Program Files/ directory then goto the directory dosdrive and goto c: from there and the go to Program Files from there. and you will be able to find your way. If you find any more problems I will be glad to answer.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! KonquerorPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77
    Thanks, but I'm an Ubuntu person. I use Gnome...

  6. #6
    Just Joined! tuxv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    92
    Hey you know you just have to do the same thing in Gnome using nautilus. Just think the above instructions are written for nautilus and GNOME only problem you will find is not being able to right click and open a console when you get there. So find out the path and the open up a console and type

    cd ~/.wine/(the path to the rct2 directory)
    and then type wine rct2.exe -opengl

  7. #7
    Just Joined! KonquerorPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77
    When I do that, it says:

    bash: cd: blah blah blah: No such file or directory

    (I have subsituted blah for the path of the directory.)

  8. #8
    Just Joined! tuxv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    92
    To which directory did you installed rct2

  9. #9
    Just Joined! KonquerorPenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    77
    I just opened it with wine and installed it.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! tuxv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Colombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    92
    When you install it the installer asks for a directory to install what did you select . you have to cd to that directory and start rct2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •