Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello, i'm new to linux. i've spent the last couple of hours trying to get WINE to work (while simultaneously learning more about Linux) and i can't really get it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wine won't work

hello, i'm new to linux. i've spent the last couple of hours trying to get WINE to work (while simultaneously learning more about Linux) and i can't really get it to work. i run Ubuntu and when i tried to use the terminal to install it, it didn't really work. i kept getting this error message:

WINE Installer v0.75

Running configure...

configure: creating cache config.cache
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnuoldld
    checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... no
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    checking for cl.exe... no
    configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
    See `config.log' for more details.

then i tried a new approach and tried installing it through the Synaptics Packet Manager. now when i type usr/bin/wine PROGRAM or wine program.exe it comes up with this message:

wine: could not load L"c:\\windows\\system32\\PROGRAM.exe": Module not found

any help would be greatly appreciated. thansk before hand.

Wine can in some cases run Windows programs satisfactorily. In many cases however, wine will run Windows programs anywhere from marginally to not at all. What Windows program are you trying to run with wine? Chances are good there is a native Linux equivalent that will work even better.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    oh, i'm sorry - i forgot to clarify my problem . the first error i posted above was trying to install through the terminal. i used this tutorial: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...are-linux.html