Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, I'm completely new to Linux, I just installed it a few days ago and I am trying to ween off of Windows and use Linux at least 90% of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Arrow Counter-Strike: Source closing

Ok, I'm completely new to Linux, I just installed it a few days ago and I am trying to ween off of Windows and use Linux at least 90% of the time. Point being, I'm VERY new so don't assume I know anything.
    I'm running Fedora Core 5 by the way.

I installed Wine and Steam and downloaded Counter Strike, I also have it so that it runs in a window. Then, it loads and the opening screen comes up with the image of the counter-terrorists and the text "Loading..." at the bottom, like normal. Then, right before the main menu would load, the game closes itself.

I looked on WineHQ and this appears to be it:
    http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=6205

There is a patch shown in an attachment in a comment shown there, but I have no idea how to install it. Help please?

Or if that's not even my problem, could someone help me out?

Thanks a lot for any help at all

Just Joined!
    I'm not trying to promote software here but i like using cedega by transgaming.com. It isn't free, but it's an easy, hassle free solution.

Quote Originally Posted by armyguy5
    I'm not trying to promote software here but i like using cedega by transgaming.com. It isn't free, but it's an easy, hassle free solution.
    Nah... I don't fell like paying. Sorry, but thanks for the tip.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I'd suggest you just dual-boot Windows XP if you really want to run games like Half-Life 2 or anything else in Steam. You can spend hours hacking away at it (this very subject has been posted by many people before, all with varying degrees of success) or just use the software on the OS for which it was designed. It's up to you what you think your time is worth.