Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I recently followed the instructions on this page to get iTunes 6.0.5 working on fc6. After installing everything I opened iTunes. The program itself ran very nicely but whenever I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Wine and iTunes, Fedora

I recently followed the instructions on this page to get iTunes 6.0.5 working on fc6.

After installing everything I opened iTunes. The program itself ran very nicely but whenever I opened it it caused my desktop to turn black. After dragging a window or something over the desktop it restored everything, but it's still annoying to have to do that every time I start iTunes. I'm a noob so I'm pretty clueless as to what the problem is and whether it's iTunes or wine that's screwing things up.

Please help!

iTunes is known to not run well under Wine. This sort of emulation can often produce weird behavior like that. Unless someone has had this exact problem and found a way to fix it, I don't know how you'd go about troubleshooting this. Is there a specific reason why you're using iTunes instead of some of the other media players that are native to Linux? Rhythmbox is a very iTunes-esque music player. So is Songbird. I doubt you'd encounter any of the same problems with either of those two.

AmaroK also looks and behaves similar to iTunes.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    The main reason I'm trying to get iTunes is for m4a support.
    I'll check out Amarok and those other players.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    AmaroK also looks and behaves similar to iTunes.
    Woops. Left out the media player I use on a daily basis.
    Quote Originally Posted by cheezit
    AmaroK supports m4a. Not sure about the others, though.

Quote Originally Posted by cheezit
    I'll check out Amarok and those other players.

Thanks!