Find the answer to your Linux question:
I recently installed World of Warcraft with wine, but when I start it, after the introduction video it crashes. I think I followed all the directions on how to install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question WoW problems

I recently installed World of Warcraft with wine, but when I start it, after the introduction video it crashes. I think I followed all the directions on how to install it, and I cannot figure out why it isn't working. If anyone has any suggestions, that would be great. I'm very new to Linux, so please be easy on me

Just moved this to the Wine section. What instructions did you follow (Do you have a link)?

Usually I find you need to get a base Wine setup running first and get the usual Internet Explorer and DCOM bits out of the way. The best resource I've used has been Frank's Corner though admittedly it's a while since I was properly bothered using Wine for anything.

Just Joined!
    I am having a quite similar problem to this.

I originally had WoW installed via cedega, however after a blundered attempt to install Burning Crusades, I had to reinstall the whole thing, and had the issue of exiting after the opening video whether I used cedega or installed it with wine directly. The installations went smoothly and there didn't seem to be any more error messages than there should be.

My last installation of WoW (without BC) successfully booted and patched the first time, then after restarting exited after the opening video.
    Installing BC when this happens doesn't seem to fix the problem.

Additionally, at some point cedega stopped being able to install WoW--that is, when I go to install it, detect the disc and hit continue, it does nothing (and doesn't even start any processes--if I do a ps before hitting continue and another afterwards, the PIDs of the ps processes are consecutive (i.e. 6330 and 6331)