Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I have been running Wine 0.9.30 installed from source tarball. I want to upgrade to the latest wine release and not sure how? According to what I have read, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wine Upgrade from 0.9.30 to 0.9.35 or any newer version

Hello,

I have been running Wine 0.9.30 installed from source tarball.
    I want to upgrade to the latest wine release and not sure how? According to what I have read, I can do patches but I see hundreds of individual patches but nothing that will step me easily from my release to the current source code release. (newbie here)

Is there and patch are series of patches that will bring me from wine 0.9.30 to 0.9.35?

What happens if I try to install 0.9.35 "on top" of mycurrent 0.9.30 wine? Will that mess things up?

I am running WoW in wine and I really hate to uninstall 0.9.30 and install 0.9.35 and have to reinstall WoW (which has always been iffy for me).

Thanks for thougths.

I don't know about patching wine to the latest version, but you can uninstall the old version and install the new one without having to re-install any of your Windows programs. They're all kept in your ~/.wine/drive_c directory, which the uninstaller doesn't touch.

I've done it this way dozens of times myself, and never lost a thing (even when I changed from source-based installs to packaged installs). The only thing that ever gave me any grief as far as my ~/.wine directory was the third-party Sidenet utility (which always wanted to create a fresh .wine directory), but that's been discontinued.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

Just Joined!
    Well could you tell a noob how to uninstall and install the new wine?

Go into wine's source directory, and type this as root:
    Code:
    make uninstall