Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
hi, i'm quite new to Wine, i've installed it just today The first thing i began to look for was running Internet Explorer (possibly v.6) under Linux. i found a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Internet Explorer under WINE

hi, i'm quite new to Wine, i've installed it just today The first thing i began
    to look for was running Internet Explorer (possibly v.6) under Linux. i found a site which says it's possible with Wine, so i downloaded and installed it. i got Wine to work without any problems, but couldn't install IE. the author of the script says it's only supposed to work with Wine 20041212 and i've got version 20040505, so it's no surprise. i would like to ask if you don't know about some sollution which would also work with my version of Wine or with any other Windows emulator which is free.
    thanx

Just Joined!

Why IE?

In general I do not believe in questioning someone's software choices. However, when the choice makes it hard for them to having working choices, I do have to ask. There are a variety of quite good linux native web browsers like mozilla, firefox, konqueror, epiphany, and opera. Why would you choose to run IE in wine? I do not even run IE on Windows.

Just Joined!
    GOOD GOD MAN!!!! WHY DO YOU WANT TO DO SUCH A THING!?!?!??!?!

having said that.....

I never tried to run IE on Wine (as you can tell from the early statment), but all other programs I have tried to run worked fine.

Do you get any error messages? Maybe posting them would be a good idea.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Hence 20040505 is the release from may 5th this year.
    20041212 would be released december 12th.

If you want a IE look a like, install Firefox and download the IE skin.
    It's basicly the same afterthat. Only faster and way more stable.