Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
sorry about posting this but i just got ver 10.1 from a friend and this is my first time using it and i cant figure out how to use my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    WG311 help


    sorry about posting this but i just got ver 10.1 from a friend and this is my first time using it and i cant figure out how to use my network card. right now im using a different computer and it is slow as hell so any help would be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    Post more about the situation. You really have a LOT to left to the mind.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    sorry

    i am using mandrake 10.1 and my card is Wg311v2

    if you need anything else can you be more specific i dont know what else you might need

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    I mean like hardware and what types of hardware u have.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    p4 2.26 ghz
    PC chips M963gv motherboard
    Netgear Wg311 v2
    seagate 100 g HD
    onboard video and sound

  7. #6
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    Okay. With that info I can work with. I'll edit this post when I find the answer.
    What computer do you have? Or laptop? (Is it Dell, or Acer or sumptin?) I've found some interesting info about some laptop's/computers.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4
    its a home built PC

  9. #8
    Just Joined! ghosty1212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    This will pose some problems... Try to get the drivers from the site here
    Although they are for Windows, see if it will work. If not, I'm sorry.

  10. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    ZombiePenguin,
    You need to know which chipset your card uses before you know which driver you need, so open a terminal window and login as root and launch this command, and post back here with the output.
    /sbin/lspci
    I believe this is an atheros chipset but I'm not sure. If it is an Atheros, then you need madwifi.
    MadWifi - Trac
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  11. #10
    Just Joined! antivirus_b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    27
    From the begining you are not telling us your pc's specification clearly. To find a suitable driver for your hardware you have to know which types of h/w you are using. So fugure out this first and then search.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •