Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi all! i am new to the forum.i have trying to connect wireless but my when i try ifconfig not either eth0 nor eth1 comes up.i am using HP 530 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    Smile connecting wireless


    hi all!

    i am new to the forum.i have trying to connect wireless but my when i try ifconfig not either eth0 nor eth1 comes up.i am using HP 530 T2050 intel duo....pls help me guys
    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Welcome to LF!

    Post the output of "lspci", "iwconfig". Run as root.
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    wireless

    hi mate
    thanx alot for responding to my quote.
    i tried tha commands u gave n afta tha iwconfig it said no wireless extensions.
    i dnt knw what tha problm i thot my card was manufactured by intel.........shudnt it be???
    neyway pls help.if its possible i wud giv my email ad so u cn mail me there

    cheers

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    Post the output of "lspci" in order to see what chipset your wireless is using.
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3

    wireless network

    the out put of lspci was intel corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network connection

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer valemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Volos
    Posts
    934
    It should work out of the box. Maybe the module isn't loaded. try
    modprobe ipw3945
    if any errors post them here. Also, which distro are you using?
    Linux is like a Teepee, No Windows, No Gates, Only Apache Inside!
    Arch Linux
    Linux user #442041

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •