Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi! All I canít configure how to make my Dell1390 wireless to work. Please help. I install CentOS435 on my HP DV6000 laptop and used dkms-ndiswrapper version 1.38 for wireless. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8

    I can't configure Dell1390 wireless


    Hi! All

    I canít configure how to make my Dell1390 wireless to work. Please help. I install CentOS435 on my HP DV6000 laptop and used dkms-ndiswrapper version 1.38 for wireless. Installed ndiswrapper look OK and I see my wireless light on. When I start configure wireless, I got problem as described below:

    [root@localhost ~]# iwconfig

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID: off/any Nickname:"localhost.localdomain"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:32 dBm
    RTS thr=2347 B Fragment thr=2346 B
    Encryption key: off
    Power Management: off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    [root@localhost ~]# iwlist wlan0 scan I saw my access point @ Cell2

    wlan0 Scan completed :

    Cell 02 - Address: 00:14:6C:49:9D:16
    ESSID:"KhaNet"
    Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:15/100 Signal level:-86 dBm Noise level:-96 dBm
    Encryption key: on
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
    12 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
    48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Extra:bcn_int=100
    Extra:atim=0
    IE: WPA Version 1
    Group Cipher : TKIP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK

    And then I modified wpa_supplicant file as following /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant:

    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=wheel

    network={
    ssid="KhaNet"
    psk="Here I am"
    proto=WPA
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=TKIP
    }

    And configured this file /etc/sysconfig/wpa_supplicant as following:

    # wlan0 and wifi0
    # INTERFACES="-iwlan0 -iwifi0"
    INTERFACES="-iwlan0"
    # ndiswrapper and prism
    # DRIVERS="-Dndiswrapper -Dprism"
    #DRIVERS="-Dndiswrapper"
    DRIVERS="-Dwext"

    I use Network config bu GUI mode and see the error like that:

    Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.

    Determining IP information for wlan0... failed; no link present. Check cable?

    And then I use this command
    [root@localhost ~]# dmesg | grep ndiswrapper

    ndiswrapper version 1.38 loaded (preempt=no,smp=yes)
    ndiswrapper (link_pe_images:577): fixing KI_USER_SHARED_DATA address in the driver
    ndiswrapper: driver bcmwl5 (Broadcom,10/12/2006, 4.100.15.5) loaded
    ndiswrapper: using IRQ 11
    usbcore: registered new driver ndiswrapper
    ndiswrapper (add_wep_key:820): adding encryption key 1 failed (C0010015)

    I really donít know what going on here. I tried to google on internet for long time but did not make my wireless working. I tried to disable any feature on my router but It did not work at all. Any ideas will be appreciate it.

    Thanks and Best Regards,

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It appears everything is working for you... you just can't get connected to the access point.

    Don't know if this will help, but with a few wireless cards, I've had real trouble getting connected with essid set to "off/any." What I've found that works is to do iwlist, find the access point's essid I wish to be connected to and input it's name...
    Code:
    /sbin/iwconfig wlan0 essid KhaNet
    Got my fingers crossed that this is all you need to get connected...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for quick response.

    I used iwlist scan and I see my AP ehich is KhaNet and I used the code you advise me but I still get the error:

    Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.

    Determining IP information for wlan0... failed; no link present. Check cable?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I had the very same problems with Ralink wireless cards and ndiswrapper. Let's see what your chipset is. Please post the output of:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    and
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -n
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks Dan,

    the output are following:

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/lspci
    00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
    00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
    00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
    00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
    00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
    00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
    00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
    00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
    00:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C51 [Geforce 6150 Go] (rev a2)
    00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
    00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
    00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
    00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
    00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
    00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev f1)
    00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev f1)
    00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
    00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
    00:14.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTra nsport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Con troller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscella neous Control
    03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-PC I Card (rev 01)
    07:05.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller
    07:05.1 Class 0805: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 1 9)
    07:05.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd: Unknown device 0843 (rev 01)
    07:05.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (re v 0a)
    07:05.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 05)


    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/lspci -n
    00:00.0 Class 0500: 10de:02f0 (rev a2)
    00:00.1 Class 0500: 10de:02fa (rev a2)
    00:00.2 Class 0500: 10de:02fe (rev a2)
    00:00.3 Class 0500: 10de:02f8 (rev a2)
    00:00.4 Class 0500: 10de:02f9 (rev a2)
    00:00.5 Class 0500: 10de:02ff (rev a2)
    00:00.6 Class 0500: 10de:027f (rev a2)
    00:00.7 Class 0500: 10de:027e (rev a2)
    00:02.0 Class 0604: 10de:02fc (rev a1)
    00:03.0 Class 0604: 10de:02fd (rev a1)
    00:05.0 Class 0300: 10de:0244 (rev a2)
    00:09.0 Class 0500: 10de:0270 (rev a2)
    00:0a.0 Class 0601: 10de:0260 (rev a3)
    00:0a.1 Class 0c05: 10de:0264 (rev a3)
    00:0a.3 Class 0b40: 10de:0271 (rev a3)
    00:0b.0 Class 0c03: 10de:026d (rev a3)
    00:0b.1 Class 0c03: 10de:026e (rev a3)
    00:0d.0 Class 0101: 10de:0265 (rev f1)
    00:0e.0 Class 0101: 10de:0266 (rev f1)
    00:10.0 Class 0604: 10de:026f (rev a2)
    00:10.1 Class 0403: 10de:026c (rev a2)
    00:14.0 Class 0680: 10de:0269 (rev a3)
    00:18.0 Class 0600: 1022:1100
    00:18.1 Class 0600: 1022:1101
    00:18.2 Class 0600: 1022:1102
    00:18.3 Class 0600: 1022:1103
    03:00.0 Class 0280: 14e4:4311 (rev 01)
    07:05.0 Class 0c00: 1180:0832
    07:05.1 Class 0805: 1180:0822 (rev 19)
    07:05.2 Class 0880: 1180:0843 (rev 01)
    07:05.3 Class 0880: 1180:0592 (rev 0a)
    07:05.4 Class 0880: 1180:0852 (rev 05)

    I'd really appreciated it your help and your time

  7. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It is indeed a broadcom chipset. I know this sounds too simple, but unplug the router and plug it back in again. I'm not saying it is the solution, but at this point it's worth trying.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Hi! Dan

    I tried to unplugged the router and wait couples minutes then plug it in again but it did not work. The same error like previous post. I quite of don't understand how chipset affect to this
    I'm really sad because I tried to setup the wireless for long time but it does not work for my laptop.

    Is there any solution for this, please?

    Thanks and Best Regards

  9. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I don't know if you are doing this, but turn off all encryption... WEP, WPA, all of that. Go straight DHCP and see if you can get it working. I have had issues with getting essid AND encryption working together under CentOS. With some cards, it would either lose or wouldn't accept essid configuration with wep enabled under ndiswrapper.

    To be honest, I've had all sorts of trouble getting wireless going in CentOS/Fedora. It might just be my own experience, but I'll use the exact same hardware in Slackware, Crux and Ubuntu and get it going with ease. I'm not sure why that is. It's a complete mystery to me since Linux is essentially Linux and theoretically should be the same when trying to get hardware going. But this has been my experience on more than one occasion, and on more than just a few wireless devices.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    8
    Hi! It did not work even though I turn off all WPA. I don't know what's going on here

    Is there any ideas to help me out?

    Thanks

  11. #10
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Have a look at this post. Maybe try what they are suggesting there for a solution.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •