Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Well, I have my wifi installed on my Linux now. But its unstable as hell.. When I boot my pc I first have to modprobe ndiswrapper ofc. Ok that works. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429

    Unstable wifi?


    Well, I have my wifi installed on my Linux now.
    But its unstable as hell..

    When I boot my pc I first have to modprobe ndiswrapper ofc.
    Ok that works.
    Then my wifi gets the ip 192.168.1.200. (The IP I tryed to use during the install when the Debian install did recognise my wifi card but wasnt able to control it).
    Then I launch wifi-radar and I disconnect it.
    And then when I try to reconnect it I have to try it a couple of times..
    And about a couple I am not talking about 5~7 times.
    Sometimes I dont get DHCP sometimes I dont get DNS.

    Well, is there a way to fix this problem?
    I know its not my accesspoint. Since with Windows I could just connect fine.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    71
    Hi,
    Maybe u are running KNetwork Manager and its the one giving u that hard time, some times if u have an unstable version of KNM, u will have related problems.
    So first make sure its not the one by stopping it, and set the card to user controller.
    Maybe what i didn't understand, is what is the problem, is the the hardware, or the software, coz u mentioned of "modprobe ndiswrapper ofc".
    Cheers

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, I did install Network Manager and the gtk front end but it doesnt start.
    And I am not going to install KDE librarys...

    The problem is unknown with me.
    I think its the software since it runs fine in windows.
    Sometimes I dont get DNS, sometimes I dont get DHCP, sometimes It doesnt do anything.
    It can scan for networks.
    But It has problems with connecting..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Well for starters you shouldn't have to modprobe ndiswrapper every time. You can add it to /etc/modules or /etc/modrpobe.conf depending on your distro.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Yea I have heard of that.
    But I thought Id just do that when its fixed and works correcly..

    (I am used to compile my own kernel and then I dont add Modules..)
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Ok, well I found out what the big malfunction is.
    When I turn my pc on(I did do the Auto modprobething)
    I get connected to the network.
    But I cant get outside.
    I think I dont have DNS or something...

    Anyone know how to fix?
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •