Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi when i type in Code: sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf it comes up Code: error: no ndiswrapper utils found! what does this mean? any help would really be appreciated. thanks...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ndiswrapper problem

hi

when i type in
    Code:
    sudo ndiswrapper -i bcmwl5.inf
    it comes up
    Code:
    error: no ndiswrapper utils found!
    what does this mean?

any help would really be appreciated.

thanks

Just Joined!

ndis

Hi - Im a linux newbie, but did you install ndiswrapper...try qunu.com - very helpful

Just Joined!
    I'm not sure of you particular problem.

But when I did it (a very long time ago) I very vividly remember that i HAD to compile ndiswrapper with the same compiler my kernel was compiled with. I tried EVERYTHING and it did not work until I did that. My suggestion to you is uninstall ndiswrapper and start from scratch. Then re-compile your kernel. Then compile and install ndiswrapper. After installing ndiswrapper restart your computer. Some people will argue that that's not necessary but for me it was - believe me i spent a very very long time trying to figure out how to get my wireless card to work. Some people will even argue that you don't need to compile ndiswrapper wilth the same compiler as the kernel was compiled with but those people may be wrong about your situation. It is very discretely documented that somewhere within ndiswrapper. If you have not built your kernel (i.e. you installed from a cd) this may affect you.

Somewhere on this board a very long time ago I went step by step of how to install it. If you're up for a wild goose chase try searching for it.

Linux Guru
    When you install NDISwrapper, you also must install the NDISwrapper kernel module. In my case, with Suse 10.2, my kernel is this:

2.6.18.8-0.5

I have this installed:

ndiswrapper 1.25-27@i586

ndiswrapper-kmp-default 1.25_2.6.18.2_34-27@i586