Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, after trying (And failing to install ubuntu, it kept crahing at the remove disc screen) to install ubuntu when i went back on to windows (Don't shoot me for ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17

    Linux beat up windows


    Hi,
    after trying (And failing to install ubuntu, it kept crahing at the remove disc screen) to install ubuntu when i went back on to windows (Don't shoot me for it) the wireless card would not work. It picked up my network as usual but would not connect, it's like linux has kicked me in between my legs and ran off with my keys .

    My laptop has lost it's main purpose and i need help!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Linux has nothing to do with any Windows Problem. It doesn't change Hardware properties or anything like that.

    If you are still interested in Ubuntu installation, post your machine specs here. RAM, Processor and Graphics Card etc.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17
    2.4ghz (i think) Celeron.
    256mb RAM
    Intel Extreme Graphics (The one that feeds off my ram)
    80gb HDD.

    I prefer Opensuse to Ubuntuif i can get that working

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Ubuntu and SuSe are user friendly distros but 256MB RAM is a bit less for both. Upgrade RAM if possible. 512MB is enough.
    OR
    Try lightweight distros. XUbuntu should run fine in your machine.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17
    Will sues with KDE perform better or worse than GNOME?

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Both use almost equal amount of resources. Try Xfce instead of Gnome/KDE. Xfce is also available in SuSe Installation DVD.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17
    It's fixed itself strangly enough.

    Thanks anyway

  9. #8
    Just Joined! Tinky Winky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    In Tellitubby land
    Posts
    21
    you do not have enough ram for a livecd. use a text installer
    ps forgive my typing i'm posting with a ps3, lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •