Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi , im new to linux . ive used it a few years ago but i can't really remember anything ,. i got my hands on a red hat enterprise ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Setting Up Wireless Network in red hat enterprise 5

Hi , im new to linux . ive used it a few years ago but i can't really remember anything ,. i got my hands on a red hat enterprise 5 copy and ive installed it But i can't connect to my wireless network. im using Dell Inspiron 1300 And my wireless card called "Dell Wireless 1370" and i think that its a broadcom chipset . I think that red hat found the drivers but i still can't connect . there isn't a way to see a list of all the wireless networks that i can connect to and just hit connect ? .
    I remember a command called "iwconfig" and "ifconfig" and that its got something to do with the network settings , but when i open a new terminal in red hat and i type this command im getting an error saying that the command does not exist ...
    If any1 could help me with this one it will be great ...
    Thanks.

Linux Guru
    To know more about the wireless card, enter this in a terminal, and post the output.
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    If it is a Broadcom wireless, there is a good chance that it needs firmware loaded to work. Run this command.
    Code:
    dmesg
    Look through the output for a message about the wireless needing firmware, and post it. This is how I got mine to work.

As for running commands in Red Hat/Fedora. Many times you need to specify the location of the function that you are trying to run. The first command that I listed above is a good example.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!