Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Ok, so i picked up the Eeepc, played with the Xandros install for a little while, and then replaced it with Ubuntu. I followed this guide: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ee...e4ec32ef23fba1 but for some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    GB, WI
    Posts
    30

    Wifi Problems: Eeepc


    Ok, so i picked up the Eeepc, played with the Xandros install for a little while, and then replaced it with Ubuntu. I followed this guide:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Ee...e4ec32ef23fba1
    but for some reason it does not recognize that I have a wireless card. I get the drivers to install fine, but it doesn't seem to be able to find my card at all.

    Here is the output for ifconfig:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1E:8C:7CC:CB inet addr:192.168.0.100 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::21e:8cff:fe7c:dccb/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:843 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:2
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:451669 (441.0 KB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Memory:fbfc0000-fc000000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    and here is the output for lspci:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 04)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 04)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 04)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 04)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 04)
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 04)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 04)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 04)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 04)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 04)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 04)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev d4)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 04)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) SATA Controller (rev 04)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 04)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Attansic Technology Corp. L2 100 Mbit Ethernet Adapter (rev a0)

    Like I said, the drivers install fine, but it just wont recognize my card for some reason.

    Help?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    It doesn't seem to show the wireless at all. The Attansic L2 is listed as an ethernet controller.
    Attansic > Products

    Is it possible that it is an internal USB device?
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    One other thing to check. Make sure that wlan is enabled in the BIOS.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    GB, WI
    Posts
    30
    For your first point, thats actually what the problem was. I'm sorry if I didn't make that clearer. It was actually the BIOS though, which actually confuses me because I never went into the BIOS between installs, but wlan worked fine under Xandros, but not under Ubuntu till now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •