Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. First, let me say I am new to Linux, but I find it very interesting. I have an old Dell Inspiron 3000 laptop that I have installed Damn Small ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

compiling wlan driver

Hi. First, let me say I am new to Linux, but I find it very interesting. I have an old Dell Inspiron 3000 laptop that I have installed Damn Small Linux to. It now works better and faster than it ever did with Windows on it

Now I am trying to install a wlan card that I got for it, and EDIMax EW7108PCG, which uses the rt2500 chipset. I have downloaded the driver for it but am now having problems compiling it. I am getting the error
    Code:
    Makefile:154: /lib/modules/2.4.26/build/Rules.make: No such file or directory
    make: *** No rule to make target '/lib/modules/2.4.26/build/Rules.make'. Stop.
    I am guessing that there are some additional resources / packages that I need but I am at a loss as to what.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Linux Guru
    You usually need the kernel sources installed to compile modules. Make sure that you get the exact version that matches your kernel. To find the kernel that you are running, enter this command in a terminal.
    Code:
    uname -r
    It is best to use the system's update/package manager to do this.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!
    OK,
    Code:
    uname -r
    reports kernal 2.4.26
    So I downloaded kernelsource.dsl using the myDSL extension tool. The description for this file shows kernel sources for version 2.4.26-knoppix.

After installing these, I tried to make the driver again but I am still getting the same error??

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    You have an old style kernel with the 2.4 version. I'm sure this has something to do with it. Is the file that it is looking for in that folder?