Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I was able to install ndiwwrapper and it sees wlan0, but i cant see the access point(it says not-associated) and when I go to Network in Fedora 8, I cant ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24

    Wireless card not seeing access point


    I was able to install ndiwwrapper and it sees wlan0, but i cant see the access point(it says not-associated) and when I go to Network in Fedora 8, I cant see my device. How can I fix this?
    Kenny

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Open a terminal and as su do:
    Code:
    /sbin/lsmod
    Do you see ndiswrapper there? If not, do:
    Code:
    /sbin/modprobe ndiswrapper
    ...and try again. When you see it there, do:
    Code:
    /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scanning
    Do you see access points? Can you post here the results of:
    Code:
    /sbin/iwconfig
    And:
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig
    ?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24
    Here is my whole thing interminal, hope this helps:

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    rfcomm 33233 0
    l2cap 21953 9 rfcomm
    bluetooth 48165 4 rfcomm,l2cap
    sunrpc 149213 3
    loop 16197 0
    dm_multipath 18505 0
    ipv6 228357 10
    snd_via82xx 26585 3
    gameport 14153 1 snd_via82xx
    snd_ac97_codec 93413 1 snd_via82xx
    ac97_bus 5825 1 snd_ac97_codec
    snd_seq_dummy 6725 0
    snd_seq_oss 31553 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 9665 1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq 48945 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    via_ircc 20949 0
    irda 102521 1 via_ircc
    crc_ccitt 5953 1 irda
    snd_pcm_oss 44353 0
    snd_mixer_oss 17217 1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm 70981 3 snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
    parport_pc 26725 0
    parport 32393 1 parport_pc
    snd_timer 21317 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc 11593 2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
    snd_mpu401_uart 10305 1 snd_via82xx
    snd_rawmidi 22465 1 snd_mpu401_uart
    snd_seq_device 10317 4 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
    floppy 52741 0
    pcspkr 6465 0
    snd 48325 18 snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_o ss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_t imer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
    soundcore 9505 1 snd
    via_rhine 23753 0
    mii 8257 1 via_rhine
    i2c_viapro 10965 0
    i2c_core 21057 1 i2c_viapro
    button 10321 0
    ndiswrapper 168476 0
    sg 32209 0
    sr_mod 17381 0
    cdrom 33761 1 sr_mod
    dm_snapshot 17765 0
    dm_zero 5697 0
    dm_mirror 21569 0
    dm_mod 49029 9 dm_multipath,dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
    pata_acpi 8641 0
    ata_generic 8901 0
    pata_via 12357 2
    libata 128817 3 pata_acpi,ata_generic,pata_via
    sd_mod 26817 3
    scsi_mod 123725 4 sg,sr_mod,libata,sd_mod
    ext3 112457 2
    jbd 40789 1 ext3
    mbcache 10177 1 ext3
    uhci_hcd 23761 0
    ohci_hcd 22725 0
    ehci_hcd 32333 0
    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scanning
    wlan0 No scan results

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:off/any
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:17 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Encryption key:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    eth1 no wireless extensions.

    [root@localhost ~]# /sbin/ifconfig
    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:5B:12:2C:3C
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0x6000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2265 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2265 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3119772 (2.9 MiB) TX bytes:3119772 (2.9 MiB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0F:66:3B:2A:ED
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:18 Memory:eb000000-eb000800

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Do:
    Code:
    /sbin/dhclient wlan0
    Then:
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig
    ...to see if the router gives you an ip address. Did you try making any settings with:
    Code:
    system-config-network
    ?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    24
    the only ip address i got was 255.255.255 and the ifconfig showed the same thing as before, i didnt touch system config.

    Kenny

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •