Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am totally new to Linux, but have bought a laptop to dedicate my learning more about this distro. I have an Intel P4 3.20GHz with a 60Gb HDD ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Broadcom BCM4303 Problem

Hi,
    I am totally new to Linux, but have bought a laptop to dedicate my learning more about this distro. I have an Intel P4 3.20GHz with a 60Gb HDD partitioned between Win XP Pro and OpenSuse 10.3 in dual boot mode. RAM only 512Mb and Graphics ATI Radeon RS300 5835 (according to YAst).

When Suse boots up, the wireless card light does not show on the laptop and when I right click on KNetwork Manager it cannot identify any wireless network. I can get online via the hard ethernet connection though. I have studied the YAst2 Hardware and the details for the wireless LAN are: Broadcom BCM4303 802.11b (eth0).

I have tried configuring the device in YAst2 'Network Settings'. 'General tab' - Activate Device: At Boot Time... Operating Mode: Managed... Network Name (ESSID): BTHomeHub-xxxx... Authn Mode: WEP-Open... Key Input Type: xxxxxxxxxx (I entered my WEP security key here)... clicked NEXT and FINISH.

I then rebooted and still the wireless indicator light didn't come on, nor would KNetwork Manager identify my BT Home Hub.

Any help would be appreciated... but not an urgent query folks as I can still get online via my Win XP or via my full desktop PC.

many regards.

Linux Guru
    The bcm4303 chip may not be fully supported with the native Linux driver.
    b43 - Linux Wireless

Anyway, for it to work at all, you need firmware installed. If you take a look at the output of this command, it may actually tell you what is wrong.
    Code:
    dmesg
    Here are the instructions for installing the firmware.
    b43 - Linux Wireless

To determine the firmware that you need, first find out which driver your system is using.
    Code:
    lsmod