Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Does that mean that my last suggestion of trying make menuconfig didn't work?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593

    Does that mean that my last suggestion of trying make menuconfig didn't work?
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  2. #22
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    Hi
    yeah, it gave like hundrends of lines of errors. lol

    i tried the acx-mac version from sourceforge in the previous posts. but last night when i was seaching, i got hold of the mac80211 subsystem version from intel and tried, and in the make command i get this error.
    [root@localhost mac80211-10.0.4]# make
    Checking kernel compatibility in:
    /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//
    grep: /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//drivers/base/core.c: No such file or directory
    grep: /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//fs/debugfs/inode.c: No such file or directory
    * Kernel requires compatibility version:
    - Requires device_rename compat
    - Requires debugfs_rename() compat
    compatible/ already exists. You must remove it before continuing.
    If patch or script failed, check pre/ and post/ for current stage.
    make: *** [compatible/modified] Error 1


    what do you think its happening? i have absolutly no idea.

    Nabaachy

  3. #23
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Off the top of my head, I'd say your kernel may be newer than the driver that you used. The driver at sourceforge is from Feb 10, 2008. That one may not work on kernels newer than that.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #24
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    Do, you think it might be a gcc issue, when i was searching i saw something that some things cannot be compiled with gcc4, it needs gcc 3.2. but i have those librarie for gcc 3.

  6. #25
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Quote Originally Posted by Nabaachy View Post

    Checking kernel compatibility in:
    /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//
    grep: /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//drivers/base/core.c: No such file or directory
    grep: /lib/modules/2.6.24.7-92.fc8/source//fs/debugfs/inode.c: No such file or directory
    Nabaachy
    I still think that this is a kernel compatibility issue. It is not finding files in the directory that it is looking for them in.

    I looked in my /lib/modules folders, and I don't have any of those files either. I do have those files in my kernel source folder. So, it's looking in the wrong place, not sure how to change that.

    There is a sort of forum for this driver. Take a look at this thread, they talk about getting the most recent version from SVN:
    SourceForge.net: Open Discussion

    They list the build command as this;
    Code:
     make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` && make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` modules_install
    Maybe you replace /lib/modules/`uname -r` with /usr/src/<kernel version>

    Just a thought.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  7. #26
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    If you read further down in the driver's README file, you'll find this:
    Hi,

    Just a note for those who, like me, prefer not to bother recompiling
    their whole kernel: It's not at all difficult to compile Denis's
    snapshots out of tree, despite what the readme file says! At least in
    somewhat recent 2.6.x kernels, there's a special syntax for compiling
    modules in a particular directory (as noted in the kernel docs in
    Documentation/kbuild/modules.txt):

    * Unpack Denis's tarball in a new directory (note that the
    tarballs currently don't contain a root directory, just the
    files, so you want to do the untarring in an empty directory)
    * If you're building for the currently running kernel, build the
    modules with the command
    make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd`
    * Install the modules (must be root for this step, so use
    'su' if that's your preferred method of doing root stuff) with
    make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` modules_install
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  8. #27
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    just now something instresting happened.
    i gave the command
    # make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` CONFIG_ACX_MAC80211=m CONFIG_ACX_MAC80211_PCI=y
    texecuted without any errors

    # make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/ M=`pwd` modules
    this also went ok

    # make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build/ M=`pwd` modules_install
    this also went ok

    # depmod
    this didnt show anything

    # insmod acx-mac80211.ko
    insmod: can't read 'acx-mac80211.ko': No such file or directory

    # moprobe acx
    this is the intresting part, when i executed this the first time it gave me a fatal error no module, second time it worked with no errors and the led in my card was on. but after that i couldnt use my keyboard. couldnt type anything anywhere (terminal, browser). but mouse worked fine. so i restarted, but hanged in a black screen. i rstarted then from the power button. but now, its not working. modpeobe acx works fine. no led nothing.

    this is the result of your command you just gave me. when i tried the commands mentioned above, the same results were produced.
    [root@localhost acx]# make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` && make -C /lib/modules/`uname -r`/build M=`pwd` modules_install
    make: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.24.7-92.fc8-i686'
    Building modules, stage 2.
    MODPOST 1 modules
    make: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.24.7-92.fc8-i686'
    make: Entering directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.24.7-92.fc8-i686'
    INSTALL /usr/src/kernels/2.6.24.7-92.fc8-i686/drivers/net/wireless/acx/acx.ko
    DEPMOD 2.6.24.7-92.fc8
    make: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.24.7-92.fc8-i686'


    dmesg shows:
    r8169: eth0: link up
    r8169: eth0: link up
    ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): eth1: link becomes ready
    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:02.0 to 64
    [drm] Initialized i915 1.6.0 20060119 on minor 0
    eth1: no IPv6 routers present
    eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    acx: this driver is still EXPERIMENTAL
    acx: reading README file and/or Craig's HOWTO is recommended, visit The ACX100/ACX111/TNETW1450 wireless network driver project (Linux, BSD) in case of further questions/discussion
    acx: compiled to use 32bit I/O access. I/O timing issues might occur, such as non-working firmware upload. Report them
    acx: running on a little-endian CPU
    acx: PCI/VLYNQ module v0.3.37 initialized, waiting for cards to probe...

  9. #28
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    I didn't post the entire README file. Further down it says to enter this command as root.
    Code:
    depmod -ae
    So, it looks like you were able to compile the driver. Is that correct?
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  10. #29
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Maldives
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by waterhead View Post
    So, it looks like you were able to compile the driver. Is that correct?
    Haa.....finally i did it. lol. Thanks to you .

    In the previous post i mentioned that the system freezes once i inserted the card, after the driver compilation. I think that was a hotplug issue, here is the error:

    PCI: Enabling device 0000:02:00.0 (0000 -> 0002)
    ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:02:00.0 to 64
    acx: found ACX111-based wireless network card at 0000:02:00.0, irq:16, phymem1:0xC4020000, phymem2:0xC4000000, mem1:0xe0340000, mem1_size:8192, mem2:0xe05c0000, mem2_size:131072
    initial debug setting is 0x000A
    using IRQ 16
    acx: need to load firmware for acx111 chipset with radio ID 16, please provide via firmware hotplug:
    acx: either one file only (<c>ombined firmware image file, radio-specific) or two files (radio-less base image file *plus* separate <r>adio-specific extension file)
    requesting firmware image 'tiacx111c16'
    acx_write_fw (main/combined): 0
    acx_validate_fw (main/combined): 0
    initializing max packet templates
    dump queue head (from card):
    len: 24
    tx_memory_block_address: 19060
    rx_memory_block_address: 13560
    tx1_queue address: 12A94
    rx1_queue address: 12754
    NVS_vendor_offs:0221 probe_delay:200 eof_memory:1114112
    CCAModes:04 Diversity:01 ShortPreOpt:01 PBCC:01 ChanAgil:00 PHY:05 Temp:01
    AntennaID:00 Len:02 Data:01 02
    PowerLevelID:01 Len:02 Data:001E 000A
    DataRatesID:02 Len:05 Data:02 04 11 22 44
    DomainID:03 Len:06 Data:30 20 30 31 32 40
    ProductID:04 Len:09 Data:TI ACX100
    ManufacturerID:05 Len:07 Data:TI Test
    get_mask 0x00004182, set_mask 0x00000000
    don't know how to get sensitivity for radio type 0x16
    got sensitivity value 0
    got antenna value 0x4A
    got regulatory domain 0x30
    get_mask 0x00000000, set_mask 0x00000000 - after update
    new ratevector: 82 84 0B 0C 12 16 18 24 2C 30 48 60 6C
    setting RXconfig to 2010:0FDD
    acx: === chipset TNETW1130, radio type 0x16 (Radia), form factor 0x01 ((mini-)PCI / CardBus), EEPROM version 0x05: uploaded firmware 'Rev 1.2.1.34' ===
    creating /proc entry driver/acx_wlan0
    creating /proc entry driver/acx_wlan0_diag
    creating /proc entry driver/acx_wlan0_eeprom
    creating /proc entry driver/acx_wlan0_phy
    acx v0.3.37: net device wlan0, driver compiled against wireless extensions 22 and Linux 2.6.24.7-92.fc8
    udev: renamed network interface wlan0 to wlan1
    pccard: card ejected from slot 0
    removing device wlan1
    removing /proc entry driver/acx_wlan1
    removing /proc entry driver/acx_wlan1_diag
    removing /proc entry driver/acx_wlan1_eeprom
    removing /proc entry driver/acx_wlan1_phy
    WARNING: at arch/x86/kernel/pci-dma_32.c:66 dma_free_coherent() (Not tainted)
    Pid: 352, comm: pccardd Not tainted 2.6.24.7-92.fc8 #1
    [<c04096f5>] dma_free_coherent+0x63/0xa0
    [<e048e011>] acxpci_free_desc_queues+0x39/0x115 [acx]
    [<e048e137>] acxpci_s_delete_dma_regions+0x4a/0x6d [acx]
    [<e04904cd>] acxpci_e_remove+0x1ec/0x35f [acx]
    [<c062b157>] wait_for_common+0x2a/0xef
    [<c050a0e7>] pci_device_remove+0x16/0x35
    [<c0571810>] __device_release_driver+0x6b/0x88
    [<c0571be0>] device_release_driver+0x32/0x48
    [<c05711c4>] bus_remove_device+0x68/0x78
    [<c056fba6>] device_del+0x1ef/0x260
    [<c056fc1f>] device_unregister+0x8/0x10
    [<c0506f08>] pci_stop_dev+0x20/0x4b
    [<c0506fe0>] pci_remove_bus_device+0x28/0x86
    [<c0507058>] pci_remove_behind_bridge+0x1a/0x2e
    [<c0576d82>] socket_shutdown+0x6d/0xbd
    [<c0576dee>] socket_remove+0x1c/0x26
    [<c05773a9>] pccardd+0x13a/0x1f7
    [<c04287f4>] default_wake_function+0x0/0x8
    [<c057726f>] pccardd+0x0/0x1f7
    [<c043ee10>] kthread+0x38/0x60
    [<c043edd8>] kthread+0x0/0x60
    [<c0405e0b>] kernel_thread_helper+0x7/0x10
    =======================


    However, this problem was solved after i added "alias wlan0 acx" to /etc/modprobe.conf file. after that executed "rmmod acx", and finally "modprobe acx". Now i can see all the links from ifconfig (eth0, eth1, lo, wlan1) iwconfig shows eth1 and wlan1. I think my house mate has switched off the wireless router tonight, so i cant see the AP from either of my wifi-cards. i will be able to check on that when he returns home.

    Again i would like to thank you waterhead.i coudnt have done this without your help. really much appriciated. :respect:

    Nabaachy

  11. #30
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    It's good that you have some success.

    I thought that I read that you may need firmware loaded for the card to work properly. There would be a message about that in the output of dmesg. Just keep that in mind if you have any trouble.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •