Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Ok...Here it goes Sorry to be a problem but i have no idea. Ive read pages and pages and always reached a step where I have no idea what there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7

    Slax Wireless Setup


    Ok...Here it goes
    Sorry to be a problem but i have no idea. Ive read pages and pages and always reached a step where I have no idea what there talking about.
    I have Slax
    My LSPCI:
    Code:
     root@slax:~# lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 10)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:12.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI0)
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI1)
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI2)
    00:13.3 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI3)
    00:13.4 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI4)
    00:13.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 14)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 IDE
    00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 PCI to LPC Bridge
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS485 [Radeon Xpress 1100 IGP]
    05:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM94311MCG wlan mini-PCI (rev 01)
    08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)
    08:01.0 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 19)
    08:01.1 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C843 MMC Host Controller (rev 01)
    root@slax:~#
    Please be very thorough with answers and suggestions

    (note :not sure how to use ndiswrapper at all)

    Thanks for any responses (sorry)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    You most likely need to use NDISwrapper and the WinXP driver for your wireless. I understand that NDISwrapper is now included in Slax, it wasn't the last time I used it.

    You usually set up NDISwrapper with a terminal. If you enter it without any options, it will list the options. You will tell it where to find the driver and the driver's .inf file.
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -i /path/to/file/driver.inf
    Verify that the driver is installed:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -l
    Then set up the module to load:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -m
    ndiswrapper -ma
    ndiswrapper -mi
    It may be a bit different in Slax.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    I tried what you said and every time i typed in the path it told me no such file or directory

    any advice?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    What is the file and the location of it that you are trying to use? Some drivers are in a compressed file format and need to be extracted before NDISwrapper can use it.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    7
    i extracted it already it was a .tar and i just tried doing the path straight to the bcmwl5.inf (example : ndiswrapper -i /etc/ndiswrapper/bcmwl5.inf) then it gives me that no matter where i put it . Ive checked and double checked the path and it should be right. (at first iwas saying it was bcmw15 instead of bcmwl5 but thats solved now haha)

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    I think that I know what the problem may be. First, you have to be root to run the commands. Second, you may need to add the path to the ndiswrapper binary. Fedora is one of the distros where this is required. I use this command in Fedora 8:
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper -i /home/paul/wlan/bcmwl5.inf
    Do a search for ndiswrapper to find it's location in Slax.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •