Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I just have obtained my first wireless router. I have never done anything with wireless before so I could use some pointers. My wireless access point is set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

first steps with wireless - some advice needed

Hi guys,

I just have obtained my first wireless router. I have never done anything with wireless before so I could use some pointers.
    My wireless access point is set up correctly and I am connected as you can see.

I am not sure whether I am setup in the best way as I have to take a few manual steps.

Here is how it works for me.

I boot up FC8 and goes through its startup. wlan0 is set to dhcp but it fails.
    Once I log on I check iwconfig and no ESSID or MAC address for access point is detected.

I then run the following command: sudo wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

When I run iwconfig again my ESSID is detected as well as my access point.
    I restart the network service and behold I am connected

There must be an easier way. How can I get Fedora to pick up my IP address on boot rather than failing?

Also, are there any GUI available? What about picking up access points automatically, i.e. in a hotel or airport?

Cheers
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

It's not a gui tool, but the easiest and quickest way I've found to detect access points is to use iwlist. You'd go from the command line:
    Code:
    iwlist wlan0 scan
    Try it and see. On getting connected at startup, no sure. I've gotten away from Fedora. If a better idea doesn't come up, you could try adding sudo wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf to /etc/profile.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Linux Guru