Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, first, I'm a noob. And while I'm not helpless on a computer, I don't frickin understand most of what I've read so far on the forum. I have a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

can't detect wireless

Ok, first, I'm a noob. And while I'm not helpless on a computer, I don't frickin understand most of what I've read so far on the forum.
    I have a Gateway laptop with a builtin Broadcom wireless 802.11g in it. I'm running a live distro of DSL. And I discovered the same thing the rest of you did: Linux and Broadcom don't play nice together.
    Since I don't have any frickin idea of what you guys are talking about, I can't make heads or tails out of the existing threads. Is there an explanation--in English--of how to make the two play nice together i.e. download this from here, then type this, etc.? If sending $50 on an external adapter from Best Buy is the answer, I have no objection to doing that. I don't do mail order, so it'd have to be available at a brick & mortar store.
    Any help? TIA.

Linux Guru
    More specific info on the wireless is needed. Enter this command in a terminal window, then copy the output and post it here in the thread.
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nn
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by waterhead View Post
    More specific info on the wireless is needed. Enter this command in a terminal window, then copy the output and post it here in the thread.
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nn
    Ok, being that DSL isn't functional for me because I have no internet connection, I haven't been on it much. Where does one find a "terminal window?" Is the resulting output likely to be so long that I can't write it down to transfer it to Windows OS to get on the internet to post this info?

Just Joined!
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci -nn