Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi I'm a newbie (to both Linux in general and Internet forums), so if this isn't the right place for this question, sorry/please point me elsewhere. I've tried a few ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

No Internet connection even though YaST appears to recognize network cards

Hi I'm a newbie (to both Linux in general and Internet forums), so if this isn't the right place for this question, sorry/please point me elsewhere. I've tried a few times over the past year to get an Internet connection set up on a SuSE 10.1 laptop with no success using madwifi drivers for the wireless card. This time I'm determined to see it through but can't find any answers on the Internet that solve my issue.

My wireless card is an Atheros AR5006X built into a Fujitsu A3040 laptop, and it works fine on Windows XP. My ethernet card (same machine) is a Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5751M, which also works fine in XP. I just looked in YaST2 and as far as I can tell, it's happy with both cards and there are no other cards. However, when I try to get online, I get a box that says "NetworkManager is Connecting" for a while and eventually disappears with no connection. I connect using a Belkin wireless router and Linksys cable modem that are working fine for multiple XP machines.

Any help would be appreciated, please let me know what other information you need. Thank you!

Linux Guru
    You need to add firmware, that is loaded when the card is initialized. Firmware is usually proprietary, and not included in "free" distributions.

Please read through this thread, and then post the output of the commands in this thread.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tml#post589924

Pay close attention to the output of dmesg, as it will tell you if it is looking for firmware.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!