Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
He goes into a lot of detail here, but the actual configuration part looks pretty easy. Link EDIT: It's for Huawei E169G which you say is not the model you're ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630

    He goes into a lot of detail here, but the actual configuration part looks pretty easy. Link
    EDIT: It's for Huawei E169G which you say is not the model you're using. Interesting reading anyway.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  2. #12
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney View Post
    That one should be fine, it's the Huawei E220 and is the most common 3G modem. I don't have first hand experience but I understand a lot of people are using these which is usually a good sign.
    I bought one of those Huawei E220 USB dongles sometime last year from Three UK and it didn't take much effort for me to get it working with openSUSE. Its detected like normal modem and can be configured using kppp or gnome-ppp to dial out.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    6
    Im so chuffed. I have been stressing out about this mobile broadband incase I was left with a contract and a laptop that wouldn't work together.

    It took a little messing about but Its easy now I know how.

    I got the cute little Eee pc on linux and the 3 mobile broadband dongle huawei one 3mb They shouldn't work together but they do
    yay

  4. #14
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    Thanks for posting back Brightonbean. Glad to hear it's working!


  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2
    Yes, it works fine with password and user name inactivated on a cellphone.
    click: Network-modem/dial-connection-connect -OK and your on internet.
    Last edited by AkeS; 08-07-2008 at 08:33 AM. Reason: missed out a detail

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •