Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Please excuse my total lack of knowledge but I hope you can answer a simple question I have. I have bought a little Asus Eeepc and went for the Linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux and broadband dongles

Please excuse my total lack of knowledge but I hope you can answer a simple question I have.

I have bought a little Asus Eeepc and went for the Linux as people say its better than the windows version.

It has wireless but I don't at home so I would like to get one of these
    Deal Summary

Would it work with Linux?

Im afraid im completely new to Linux having been a windows person most of my life and haven't even turned on the machine yet through fear of messing it up.

Linux isn't mentioned in the operating requirements and I don't want to get myself into a 18 month contract if I wont be able to use it.

Can anyone tell me yes or no?

Thanks for your time
    from Jen

Hi Jen and welcome to the forums!

I found this which appears to address your concern with an exact remedy. The good news is, according to the article, this device can be configured to work for you! The problem might be, as someone new to Linux, the method described could prove very challenging. If you are a patient person and are good at following instructions then I'd say go for it! The choice of course will be yours. We'd be glad to assist you if you run into trouble.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    Um maybe I should take it back and get a windows version. Linux is probably loads better but not if you are like me and can only just turn the pc on lol.

The wireless utility included works flawlessly anyway. I'd call the makers of the Dongle and ask them why they are ignoring Linux users.

Just Joined!