Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Im extremely new to linux. Im using Ubuntu 8.04 and Im trying to figure out how to get my wireless card working on linux. Ive tried to install ndiswrapper/ndisgtk and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Wpc54G Wireless card

Im extremely new to linux. Im using Ubuntu 8.04 and Im trying to figure out how to get my wireless card working on linux. Ive tried to install ndiswrapper/ndisgtk and I managed to supposedly install the driver but the "link" light on my card is still turned off indicating that my wireless internet access has not been enabled. Im under the impression that I might have installed it all wrong...Or maybe there's some kind of configuration step I might have missed. either way, is there a step by step wiki I can follow that will give me the right answers?

EDIT: it appears to me that the windows driver is installed and ubuntu is recognizing my wireless card...but the link light is still off and wireless roaming is enabled but I still dont have access. someone please help?
    Last edited by Erin_Go_Baugh; 07-14-2008 at 02:27 AM. Reason: next step

IIRC, that device uses the broadcom chip-set, try installing the firmware & see if it works. As i'm not an Ubuntu user, you will have to figure that one out. Probably a case of using fw-cutter to extract from your windows driver
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

Still confusing. please elaborate.

alright, the system is telling me that my wireless card is detected and that all the drivers are installed correctly...now...how do I actually get it to connect?

Linux Guru