Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
ok to start ill give a bit of background by friend who used to run linux (hates it) gave me the new Ubuntu and dual booted it with windows XP ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

D-Link Wireless Help

ok to start ill give a bit of background

by friend who used to run linux (hates it) gave me the new Ubuntu and dual booted it with windows XP

ok the weird part.. he installed it and everything worked fine, even the internet

but now i restarted it and my internet isnt working, he has no idea how to fix it cause he 'doesnt do linux'

everything is set up correctly and it says i am connected, but when i try to load a web page it just loads for 5min and says it cant connect to the server

please help me out setting up my D-Link DWL-G510 Wireless G Desktop Adapter

im new to this whole command line thing so a walk through will be greatly appreciated

P.S. ive been looking around in this forum for about an hour without any clear help for my issue

Hi dualbootr and welcome to the forums! Did you try to configure your wireless device through the Ubuntu network configuration utility in your menu first? Does everything look okay there? If not, we might need to do further troubleshooting. Open a terminal and do:
    Code:
    sudo lspci | grep Wireless
    It will ask for your password, so just enter it and presss enter. Copy that line down and post it here please. This will allow us to see the exact card, version and chipset you are running so as to better advise you on what to do next.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Just Joined!
    ok ill do that next but first:

i got an error message that i haven't gotten before and thought it might be useful

"There was an error starting the GNOME Settings Daemon.

Some things, such as themes, sounds, or background settings may not work correctly.