Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 49
I had tried to connect before you answered my post by unconnecting card and seeing if I had access but it made no difference. Right now I have wireless in ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204

    I had tried to connect before you answered my post by unconnecting card and seeing if I had access but it made no difference. Right now I have wireless in roaming mode instead of manual config in Network in Gnome. So I can plainly state it wouldn't connect in roaming or in manual but what the heck do I know about configuring in manual. I posted the manual configs in the previous screen shots but that was with the pcmcia card attatched. Rebuilding harley engines is easier for me.

  2. #12
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    You should be able to click on the NetworkManager icon in the top right corner of the screen and connect to the WAP.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204
    Quote Originally Posted by gruven View Post
    You should be able to click on the NetworkManager icon in the top right corner of the screen and connect to the WAP.
    If your talking about the icon with the little computer Connection information is greyed out. Enable wireless is checked and enable network is checked and edit wireless networks shows up but if I click on edit I'll be buggered if I know whatr to enter in the boxes.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    That is odd. On my Ubuntu machine, I left click on the NM icon and it brings up a list of WAP's I can connect to.

    So if it is grayed out that means that it isn't detecting the wireless card. I don't use network manager on anything except ubuntu for this reason and I don't like the interface, but let us try something different.

    In the terminal, please type "iwconfig" and "ifconfig" and post the results.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  6. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204
    harry@harry-laptop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
    [sudo] password for harry:
    *-network:0
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    physical id: 2
    bus info: pci@0000:02:02.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 10
    serial: 00:80:45:29:3f:1d
    size: 100MB/s
    capacity: 100MB/s
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
    configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 duplex=full ip=192.168.2.3 latency=64 link=yes maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 module=8139too multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
    *-network:1
    description: Wireless interface
    product: PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 3
    bus info: pci@0000:02:03.0
    logical name: eth1
    version: 05
    serial: 00:15:00:10:0a:ce
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ipw2200 driverversion=1.2.2kmprq firmware=ABG:9.0.2.6 (Mar 22 2005) latency=64 link=no maxlatency=24 mingnt=3 module=ipw2200 multicast=yes wireless=unassociated
    harry@harry-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 unassociated ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=0 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
    Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

  7. #16
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204
    Lets try this again sorry.

    harry@harry-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 unassociated ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=0 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm Sensitivity=8/0
    Retry limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    harry@harry-laptop:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:80:45:29:3f:1d
    inet addr:192.168.2.3 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::280:45ff:fe29:3f1d/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1511 errors:6 dropped:12 overruns:6 frame:0
    TX packets:1604 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1061704 (1.0 MB) TX bytes:326510 (318.8 KB)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0x4400

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:00:10:0a:ce
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:8051 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2661 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:9 Base address:0x8000 Memory:e8602000-e8602fff

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1412 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1412 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:59304 (57.9 KB) TX bytes:59304 (57.9 KB)

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    This is good, because it recognizes the wireless device and we can manipulate it using wireless-tools.

    Try this:
    Code:
    iwconfig eth1 essid harrybelkin
    dhclient eth1
    That should associate the card with the WAP and if you use dhcp it will automatically pull an ip address from it if you don't use encryption (WEP, WPA, etc...).

    I would recommend using encryption later on when you understand more about wireless but for now this is fine.

    Also NetworkManager may be preventing the device from associating since it is not the one doing the negotiating. It is like that sometimes. We will address that if it is the issue after you run the commands and see what happens.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  9. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204
    Do I enter each line individually or all at once?

  10. #19
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post
    Do I enter each line individually or all at once?
    You would enter each individually. When I type out commands for you, each line will be seperate.

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  11. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4,204
    Here is what I got

    harry@harry-laptop:~$ iwconfig eth1 essid harrybelkin
    Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
    SET failed on device eth1 ; Operation not permitted.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •