Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, this is my first time using Linux of any kind. My wife and son bought 2 used laptops from our local school board which do not have wireless ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Lost in kubuntu

Hello all, this is my first time using Linux of any kind. My wife and son bought 2 used laptops from our local school board which do not have wireless built in. She went down to the local Compusa store and bought a wireless router and 2 usb wireless adapters. After talking with a work associate he suggested I download and us Kubuntu as the OS for them. I've done so and I've read numerous forums on setting up wireless on Ubuntu and Kubuntu but none have provided an understandable step by step procedure on setting them up. One said I would need to download the latest version Network Manager and ndiswrapper I've done this as well, the only problem is that they're download format was a compressed or zipped format. I've extracted them to the desktop but I don't know what to do next, how do i launch them. In browsing kubuntu I have noticed that there is a Knetwork Manager, is this Kubuntu's version of the same thing? If so all I should need is the ndiswrapper but how do I get it launched. I really need some help here.

If you have ndiswrapper as a .tar.gz file you can unzip it with "gunzip filename" and then unpack it with "tar -xvf filename". If it is .tar.bz2, you unzip it with "bunzip2 filename" and then unpack it.

In either case you will get a directory full of files, one of which will be a README file; there may also be a separate INSTALL file. Read them and do exactly as they tell you. In the great majority of cases, the sequence necessary to compile a program is:
    Code:
    ./configure
    make
    sudo make install
    "I'm just a little old lady; don't try to dazzle me with jargon!"
    www.hrussman.entadsl.com

Just Joined!