Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi any advice on how to get this to work? iv only seen instructions for ubuntu. i am new to linux and would really appreciate any help...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Huawei E169G and acer aspire one (linpus)

hi
    any advice on how to get this to work? iv only seen instructions for ubuntu. i am new to linux and would really appreciate any help

Just Joined!
    Hi

For my E220 this worked
    go to https://forge.betavine.net/frs/?grou...release_id=116 and download

vodafone-mobile-connect-card-driver-for-linux-2.0.beta3-ALL-i386-installer.run

double clinck on this file and it should start installing. You will get asked for your user name...i think its "user" by defualt. The software should install. start it by typing
    vodafone-mobile-connect-card-driver-for-linux in the terminal. If you have advanced mode on it should be under the internet section. If you get an error message about permissions put "sudo" in front of the command to get administrator privileges.

I might be getting carried away here. To start the terminal press alt+f2 and type terminal.

When setting up a connection use any username and password. For the APN I had to put in hs.vodafone.ie as im in ireland. For your APN setting have a look on Huawei E220 wvdial.conf files - Ubuntu Forums. Each network has something slightly different. Its at the bottom of these files.

Good luck

Linux Newbie
    I tried Huawei E170 on Asus eeePC and it worked without the need for extra drivers. Since Acer Aspire One has a newer kernel, E169 should work out of the box.
    Go to the tool for network connections(don't know which is, as eeepc has xandros and not linpus) and the device Huawei E169 should appear there. Then give the configuration options that your ISP has given you.

Just Joined!