Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Okay, so my problem is that I don't have wireless internet set up on my laptop and I would REALLY like it if I could get this fixed, lol. And ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problem installing orinoco-0.15 driver. Help please!!!

Okay, so my problem is that I don't have wireless internet set up on my laptop and I would REALLY like it if I could get this fixed, lol. And a head's up, im a newbie to linux so bare with me if I don't get all the lingo and whatnot. First things first, I'm running on Fedora 8 and my laptop is a Compaq Evo N610c. I found out, after installing linux on my computer, that wireless adapters don't seem to run without installing specific drivers and whatnot. So, I switched over to Windows (where I'm able to have internet...) and found that a driver called (correct me if I'm missing part of the title..) Orinoco. I downloaded it to my laptop, read the README and it doesn't seem to really tell me much about installing it. it just says

"The easiest way to install is to use the version included in the kernel source. Enable CONFIG_NET_RADIO, CONFIG_HERMES, and the driver for your hardware"

Then it talks about using a "standalone version"...which...i dont even know if that matters to me, i just wanna install this thing and get my net working right, lol.

So i put it on hold for a bit until today when i decided i wanted to get it done, so i found this site and started searching. I found a sticky on installing things and i read up to the actual installing part and it won't work. It told me to make an "src" directory, which i did what it said.

"mkdir /home/user/src"