Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I just installed ndiswrapper with the driver I need. I don't know why it doesn't works though, after creating the alias (wlan0), I write "ifconfig" and wlan0 doesn't shows up. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    ndiswrapper, wlan0 not showing


    I just installed ndiswrapper with the driver I need. I don't know why it doesn't works though, after creating the alias (wlan0), I write "ifconfig" and wlan0 doesn't shows up.
    Outcome:



    What can I do to solve this?


    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Maybe try:
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig wlan0 up
    Do you get anything when doing:
    Code:
    /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scan
    ?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie danielsmw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Clemson, SC / Charleston, SC
    Posts
    110
    Did you modprobe and rmmod ndiswrapper?
    Registered Linux User: #479567
    Asking a question? Read this page first.
    Now... sudo make me a sandwich.
    ratiocinativeroot.blogspot.com

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    Why are you using NDISwrapper?

    What type of chipset does your wireless have? There are most likely native Linux drivers for it. I would only recommend using NDISwrapper as a last resort.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    @Dapper Dan:

    Code:
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ /sbin/ifconfig wlan0 up
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.

    @danielsmw:

    I have tried, but my comp freezes

    @waterhead:

    Hmm I'll try to search for some linux drivers....

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    I've dropped my resistance to using NDISwrapper. Go ahead and use it if you want.

    Have you installed it correctly? Run this command to give you all of the options.
    Code:
    ndiswrapper --help
    You may need to first load the module (as root):
    Code:
    modprobe ndiswrapper
    If here are no erreors, run these commands:
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -m
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -ma
    Code:
    ndiswrapper -mi
    Check again to see if it is working;
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    Outcome:
    Code:
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ ndiswrapper --help
    install/manage Windows drivers for ndiswrapper
    
    usage: ndiswrapper OPTION
    -i inffile       install driver described by 'inffile'
    -a devid driver  use installed 'driver' for 'devid' (dangerous)
    -r driver        remove 'driver'
    -l               list installed drivers
    -m               write configuration for modprobe
    -ma              write module alias configuration for all devices
    -mi              write module install configuration for all devices
    -v               report version information
    
    where 'devid' is either PCIID or USBID of the form XXXX:XXXX,
    as reported by 'lspci -n' or 'lsusb' for the card
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ modprobe ndiswrapper
    FATAL: Error inserting ndiswrapper (/lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/ubuntu/misc/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapper.ko): Operation not permitted
    luis@luis-laptop:~$

  9. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by lcruz007 View Post
    @Dapper Dan:

    Code:
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ /sbin/ifconfig wlan0 up
    wlan0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scan
    wlan0     Interface doesn't support scanning.
    You might have better luck doing those with root privileges. type 'su' in a terminal and press enter. Enter password and press enter again. Unless you are using Ubuntu in which case, these commands need to be preceeded with 'sudo.'
    Code:
    luis@luis-laptop:~$ modprobe ndiswrapper
    FATAL: Error inserting ndiswrapper (/lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/ubuntu/misc/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapper.ko): Operation not permitted
    luis@luis-laptop:~$
    You need to be 'su' to do these commands too.

    EDIT: I see from your /lib/modules above you ARE using Ubuntu so use sudo. See the sticky on sudo at the top of the Ubuntu section.
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 10-03-2008 at 02:23 AM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9
    OK, I tried those commands using root, but my terminal gets crazy and starts printing some "nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn"... And then it freezes and I have to shut it down...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •