Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi. How can I make my wlan working. I have Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo 1718 and with Fedora 9. I also tried other systems like Ubuntu, but with the same effect. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wifi on Fujitsu-Siemens (Atheros chipset) - can't make it going

Hi. How can I make my wlan working. I have Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo 1718 and with Fedora 9. I also tried other systems like Ubuntu, but with the same effect. The wifi button nor the wifi card does not work for me.
    My other attempt was to set up wlan malually where the wifi card seemed to got recognised by Network Manager (see screenshot) however after I click Activate, there was this error message:

Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.

Determining IP information for wlan0... failed.

I am complete novice to Linux environment, but one has to start somewhere.

Thnx.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hi lopata, Welcome to Linux Forums.
    Getting your wireless card working in Linux can be confusing sometimes but be strong and patient.
    Take a look at this thread and post the output from those commands here, hopefully we can get you up and running.
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tup-linux.html
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Just Joined!
    I believe my wifi card is PCI Atheros. Ndiswrapper did not work. In fact I am not sure about the driver for this card as the laptop model I bought was designed for Vista only and even run XP was not easy to do and loads of additional tweaks of 300MB in size in total had to be installed.
    Anyway the output from
    /sbin/lspci -nn
    is below: