Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I have Fedora 8 on a 500GB external flash drive and am booting my laptop (Vista) off the hard drive and using Linux. On my laptop i connect to the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Ndiswrapper Help

I have Fedora 8 on a 500GB external flash drive and am booting my laptop (Vista) off the hard drive and using Linux. On my laptop i connect to the internet via a wireless connection but i cant connect to the internet on Linux. My wireless card is Intel Pro 3945BG. I tried installing the driver for my wireless card but received errors and due to the fact im VERY new to linux, i find it hard to work through there errors or understand the jargon. So, in a last try, ive tried Ndiswrappper. Following the installation insturctions i did:

tar -zxvf ndiswrapper-1.44.tar.gz
    make
    make install

This is where the commands stop working.

The instructions tell me to use "ndiswrapper -l" then "ndiswrapper -e driver_name.inf". The first command says it should list the drivers then the second command erases the old driver. Not even the first command works. I recieve an error saying "Unable to find directory /etc/ndiswrapper".

Can anyone tell me how to fix this? I really love Linux but without internet ill have to stick to crappy windows. Please. Help.

Did you try using the native Linux drivers for this card?
    I would try the Linux drivers before using windows drivers and ndiswrapper.

If you install the Linux drivers and still can't get network open a terminal and type "su" and enter your root password.
    Then enter "iwconfig" and post the result here.

ive tried installing the Linux drivers but due to my infamilirity with Linux was unable to do so. I always get a variety of errors. The two drivers ive been trying to install are iwlwifi and mac80211. It says the iwlwifi requires the mac module however neither will install. Are these the right modules?