Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi my name is Paul & as you may have guessed i'm a newbie. Advice i need is more for a friend than me, though i may find it useful ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Modem Advice

Hi my name is Paul & as you may have guessed i'm a newbie.

Advice i need is more for a friend than me, though i may find it useful in the future.

We both have eeepc notebooks on Linux. She got hers as she was impressed how compact it was. However we never thought about internet connection as i run mine from a wireless router on PC. However she has no such abilities, so wanting a Linux compatible mobile modem. I have heard there is at least one available, but needs Linux drivers loading? Any advice i can get to get her online would be appreciated.

Linux Guru
    I'm not sure what it is your looking for.

To connect a wireless to a wired LAN, you need an Access Point (AP). Some routers have an AP built in, but you can get just an AP too.

There are some wireless cards that can be used as an AP. My information says these drivers support AP mode:

b43 (Broadcom)
    ipw2200 (Intel)
    libertas_tf (Marvell)
    p54 (Intersil)

Also, Atheros chips supported by the MadWifi driver can be used as an AP.

There is also an Ad-Hoc mode that many more wireless cards can run as. I have not done this, and don't really understand it, but it may work for what you need. See this:

Ad-Hoc Wireless - What is Wireless Ad-Hoc Mode?

Check this web site out on the current drivers and the modes that they support:

Drivers - Linux Wireless
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.