Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I am new to CentOS 5.2. I have D-Link WUA-1340 wireless USB adapter that uses the rt73usb driver / module. At least I worked in Fedora 9 out of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

D-Link WUA-1340 Support (rt73usb) CentOS 5.2

Hello,

I am new to CentOS 5.2. I have D-Link WUA-1340 wireless USB adapter that uses the rt73usb driver / module. At least I worked in Fedora 9 out of the box with that driver / module. I assume the Fedora 9 kernel supported it.

I really do not want to try and add a custom kernel to my instalation but I am wondering how I can get this to work on centOS 5.2.

I know first step is to get the adapter to be recognized by the system kernel. I think I can configure the network after that.

Any help or direction is truly appreciated.

Linux Guru
    First, read this sticky, and provide the needed information:
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html

CentOS, a RHEL clone, is meant for server or business uses. There is not much use for wireless in these situations, so it usually isn't even included in the kernel. You can try enabling the CentOS Plus repository, and installing that kernel. But that will give you a customized kernel, and there is no guarentee that the rt73 driver is in that kernel either.

You could also download the source and install it. A good way is to use the compat-wireless package form LinuxWireless.org.
    Download - Linux Wireless

This will not only give you the rt73 driver, but many others too. It will have to be re-installed if you change kernels.

This driver also requires firmware before it will work properly, info on that can be found here.
    rt73usb - Linux Wireless

In fact, the driver could be loading, but the missing firmware could be your only problem.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Just Joined!

DKMS and some charity?