Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I have installed openSUSE 11.0 on my desktop computer, but I'm struggling with my wireless configuration. I'm relatively new to Linux and I would appreciate some expert help. My ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Unhappy [SOLVED] openSUSE USB wireless

Hello, I have installed openSUSE 11.0 on my desktop computer, but I'm struggling with my wireless configuration. I'm relatively new to Linux and I would appreciate some expert help.
    My hardware description:
    Code:
    MSI K7T266 Pro2-RU mainboard
    AMD Athlon 1.4GHz processor
    SpeedTouch 120 USB wireless adapter
    So far I have tried to configure ndiswrapper to use Windows drivers, but without success (see Need help with ndiswrapper! - openSUSE Forums)

In the meantime I have found orinoco_usb driver, which works for my wireless adapter. To install the orinoco_usb driver I have followed the installation steps as described here: Lucid Tips Wireless using W200 on openSUSE 11.0
    I can connect to wireless and everything works fine, but for a limited time. Actually, each time I'm online my system freezes within 5 minutes.
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________

My system gets installed with PAE kernel. At first I always changed to DEFAULT kernel (which is also installed on my notebook) after installation, but now I stick to PAE kernel. Anyway, I didn't notice any difference in the system stability related to the kernel type.
    Which kernel type should I use to improve wireless stability?
    __________________________________________________ __________________________________________________

A part of the installation steps concerns the kernel configuration.
    This is the procedure that I followed as described in Lucid Tips Wireless using W200 on openSUSE 11.0
    cd /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/build/
    su
    (root password)