Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Ubuntu 8.10 installed it over openSUSE 11.1 today, yesterday it was openSUSE 11.1 ( replaced Windows Vista completely) I guess that was my first mistake, however ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Can I get my wireless going with Interne?

I am new to Ubuntu 8.10 installed it over openSUSE 11.1 today, yesterday it was openSUSE 11.1 ( replaced Windows Vista completely) I guess that was my first mistake, however I still have the complete system on my original hard drive and a full system recovery backup on seagate ext hd. But since I replaced Windows Vista, I don't have any internet access anymore.

Here is my issue, since I cannot access the internet at all. I am on my desktop right now. I cannot hardwire into system in this location, it is embarq wireless in a sorority house with 18 other girls on it. I don't feel comfortable fiddling with the system here and taking a chance on knocking out the system.

If this config has to be able to go online, and I cannot, I guess I should give up on having this system on my pc, and try to crawl on bended knee back to my old hard drive that has the old Vista Home Basic on it, brush it off and put into my laptop and see if it will go?

Would anyone care to help me? I read that this forum was part of the highly rated support that comes with Linux, I would like to feel the love.....thanks!

Linux Newbie
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmieanna View Post
    I cannot access the internet at all.
    Could you under openSuse?
    Have you ever connected to the internet under linux?
    What kind of computer do you have?
    What kind of wireless adapter do you have, how is it connected to your computer?
    Does the wireless network you're trying to use require a password or can anybody get on it?

Quote Originally Posted by dijetlo View Post
    Could you under openSuse?
    Have you ever connected to the internet under linux?