Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
I havnt got a clue how to do this as im not a bit technical. Please Help, can you tell me as plain as you can. How do i set ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8

    Help Setting Up Wireless


    I havnt got a clue how to do this as im not a bit technical.
    Please Help, can you tell me as plain as you can.
    How do i set up my USB wireless card on my laptop ?

    I looked on a thread and it said first find out what chipset your wireless has.... what does this mean ??

  2. #2
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Basically, different manufacturers often use the same tech underneat. So a Linksys USB adapter might have the same wireless chip as a D-Link adapter. Read this http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/wir...tart-here.html and post the requested information.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Ive Read all that but dont understand a bit of it

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    What don't you understand? The instructions are very clear, you enter a command, and it outputs a reply. You then copy and post it to this thread.

    We at least need to know what Linux distribution you are using (Ubuntu, Suse, Fedrora, etc) and what version (Ubuntu 8.10, Suse 11.1, Fedora 10, etc). More info on the PC type would be nice too.
    Last edited by waterhead; 03-28-2009 at 08:48 PM.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by waterhead View Post
    What don't you understand? The instructions are very clear, you enter a command, and it outputs a reply. You then copy and post it to this thread.

    We at least need to know what Linux distribution you are using (Ubuntu, Suse, Fedrora, etc) and what version (Ubuntu 8.10, Suse 11.1, Fedora 10, etc). More info on the PC type would be nice too.
    i dont know what command to enter an where to enter it.

    i use linux puppy on a dell latitude laptop

  7. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    Quote Originally Posted by CharlieMac View Post
    i dont know what command to enter an where to enter it.

    i use linux puppy on a dell latitude laptop
    The commands are posted quite clearly in the instructions. Just enter them in a terminal, and post the output for us.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    The commands are posted quite clearly in the instructions. Just enter them in a terminal, and post the output for us.
    Whats a terminal ? lol
    please explain everything as plain as you can

  9. #8
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,025
    A terminal is just like a command prompt in Windows. You should find it somewhere in your applications menu.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by jayd512 View Post
    A terminal is just like a command prompt in Windows. You should find it somewhere in your applications menu.
    Weres the application menu ? lol
    i want windows back this is too much

  11. #10
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Come on, don't give up yet. You haven't been around the block yet and you already want to trade in a Ferrari for a Buick??
    The Applcations menu is the "Start Button" equivalent to Windows. It *should* be at the bottom/left of your screen with some type of Logo. When you click on it, it opens up a system menu with all your applications. Look for Teminal, Konsole, Xterm.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •