Find the answer to your Linux question:
Dear all, I am new to Linux ,Can any one tell me how to install my wirelless Lan Card ,I am using Lenovo 3000 N200,and its wireless Lan Card is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless Lan Card Driver for Red hat Enterprise 5

Dear all,
    I am new to Linux ,Can any one tell me how to install my wirelless Lan Card ,I am using Lenovo 3000 N200,and its wireless Lan Card is ":00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)"

Linux Guru
    This should be fairly easy to get working. But first, we need some information. Read through the thread linked to below, and post the information that it describes how to find.

Wireless Setup - Start Here

Don't forget to give us the drivers that are loading (lsmod), and the dmesg/firmware info. Also provide the output of these two commands.
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Code:
    iwconfig
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

Note that for this card, you need both the driver and the firmware. No idea if the firmware package is in Red Hat's repositories, but you can get it here.

This card works out of the box in almost every distro, the exceptions that I know of being Red Hat, CentOS, and Debian. For Debian, it's because the firmware is non-free - they do include the driver. For the others, it's because they are Enterprise distros, and not really designed for laptops. My understanding is that wireless drivers are disabled in the kernel by default.

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    My understanding is that wireless drivers are disabled in the kernel by default.